Undergraduate Program

Overview of Undergraduate programe

The School of Mechanical Engineering offers 6 four-year programs at the undergraduate level. They are respectively Mechanical Engineering, Vehicle Engineering, Armored Vehicle Engineering, Energy and Power Engineering, Industrial Engineering and Mechanical Engineering, among which Mechanical Engineering and Vehicle Engineering listed as Featured Undergraduate Programs by the MOE and Beijing Municipality. Since 2010, Mechanical Engineering and Vehicle Engineering programs have been given approval by the MOE to pilot the "Excellent Engineer Training Program". In October 2014, these two programs received Engineering Education Accreditation from the China Engineering Education Accreditation Association (CEEAA). As a subsidiary of the China Association for Science and Technology, the CEEAA is the sole organization which has received authorization from the Chinese authorities to carry out engineering education accreditation legally in China, and also one of the official members of the "Washington Accord".


Building upon the existing programs of Mechanical Engineering and Vehicle Engineering, since 2011, the School started to offer a new Mechanical Engineering Program which uses English as its instruction language, adopts the concept of “Broader Mechanical Engineering” and aligns itself with the curriculum commonly used in renowned universities globally. The new program selects 30 outstanding students from all engineering students in BIT annually and also takes a certain number of international students. Students enrolled in this program have more opportunities to take part in a variety of international exchange programs, including those at home and abroad, overseas graduation projects and Double Degree Programs. So far, most of the graduates of the past two years have enrolled in prestigious universities in Europe and North America to pursue Master and Doctorate studies.


  The University has established a two-level management and monitoring system for the undergraduate teaching management work, comprised of the University and the School. The University’s Academic Affairs Office works as the competent authority responsible for the undergraduate teaching management of the University, which is led by the Undergraduate Education Vice President. The School’s undergraduate teaching management system is shown in Fig. 2.1.


  This organizational structure consists of three levels of functional modules: the Professors’ Committee and the Dean are at the first level. The Professors’ Committee leads the School’s education and academic development, and is responsible for the implementation of the university education concept, “Students’ education is the core of everything” in the process of teaching, research and social service; the Dean takes the most important responsibility in all undertakings of the school. The second level of the module consists of supervisory professors, the undergraduate teaching office, the undergraduate teaching advisory group, and the teaching and curriculum group, all under the leadership of the Vice Dean of Undergraduate Teaching. This level of the module is responsible for the organization, monitoring, management and adjustment of the school’s undergraduate teaching. The third level of the module consists of the Deputy Director of Teaching, a team of supervisory professors, the responsibility professor, and the team of course instructors, who are responsible for the design of specific teaching plans and courses, and the implementation of teaching. The responsibility professor work under the leadership of the School and take primary responsibility for undergraduate teaching. And the supervisory professors monitor the day-to-day work of all instructors.