About ME

Current Position: Home» About ME» Overview»

Overview of the School of Mechanical Engineering

The School of Mechanical Engineering is of the longest history, largest scale, and highest admission scores at BIT and a national leader in mechanical engineering in China. It has produced many outstanding alumni for the development of the Chinese economy and industry.

The school has 2 national key disciplines: mechanical engineering, and power engineering and engineering thermo-physics. The discipline of mechanical engineering has 6 major research areas: Vehicle, Powertrain, Manufacturing, Mechanical Design, Robotics, and Micro/Nano Engineering. The discipline of power engineering and engineering thermo-physics also has 6 major research areas: Power Machinery System Engineering and Control Theory, Combustion in Internal Combustion Engine, Vehicle Emission and Environmental effect, structural strength& vibration & noise of power machinery, turbomachinery and fluid dynamics, Complex multiphase flows and propulsion, and Strengthened Heat and Mass Transfer and Effective Utilization of Solar Energy.

The School offers 3 undergraduate programs, i.e., Vehicle Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Thermal Energy and Power Engineering, and 2 the disciplines including Mechanical Engineering and Power Engineering and Engineering Thermo-Physics. Both are also authorized to offer doctoral programs, academic master’s degree programs and professional master’s degree programs. The School now has 314 faculty and staff members, of whom 61 are professors and 124 are associate professors and staff with sub-senior professional titles, and 3,712 students.

The School consists of the Department of Vehicle Engineering, Thermal Energy and Power Engineering, Manufacturing Engineering, Electromechanical Science, Engineering Training Center, Experimental Teaching Center of Mechanical Engineering, and the School Office. Its leadership comprises 1 dean, 1 chairman of the School Committee, 1 executive vice president and 5 vice deans. The dean is ultimately responsible for all administrative work of the School; the chairman of the School Committee oversees and guarantees the operation of the School’s administrative work; the executive vice dean works closely with the dean to take care of the routine administrative work (including the work concerning disciplines, personnel and finance); the vice dean in charge of students’ affairs is responsible for the work concerning students’ affairs; the vice dean in charge of administrative affairs is responsible for the School’s labs and facilities, and administrative management, and also assumes the position of Chairman of the Labor Union; the vice dean in charge of ungraduated teaching affairs is responsible for ungraduated education and internationalization; the vice dean in charge of research affairs is responsible for the School’s research work, including research internationalization; the vice dean in charge of graduate teaching affairs is responsible for graduate education and disciplinary development.

Besides, the School sets up organizations to examine and decide on plans and implementation schemes on talent education, disciplinary construct and development of academic programs, including the Faculty and Staff Congress, the Professors’ Committee, the Evaluation Sub-Committee of Professional and Technical Positions, the Post Assessment and Employment Sub-Committee, and the Teaching Supervising Team. These organizations oversee and evaluate the quality of education, and are also responsible for the qualification evaluation in faculty promotion and employment.